top of page
Open Icon
Close Icon

Welcome to my music!

Photography credited to Rico and Caroline Sze

About Me

Ng Yu Hng is an award-winning composer whose works explore notions of musical time, liturgy and intertextuality.  He read his Masters degree at the Royal Academy of Music with Morgan Hayes, supported by the Countess of Munster Trust Scholarship. Previously, he studied at King’s College London, achieving the Purcell Prize in Music for academic excellence.​


His music have been performed and published internationally, in 15 countries across Europe, Asia, the Middle East and North America. His past and ongoing work with notable ensembles and performers including: the Singapore Chinese Orchestra, Mivos Quartet, Black Pencil Ensemble, CHROMA, Lontano, Meitar Ensemble, Fretwork Viol Consort, CoMA, Sopriola, Hill Quartet, Xin Saxophone Quartet, Philomel, and by soloists such as George Fu, Richard Uttley and Juan Aguilera Cerezo among others. His pieces were also featured at prestigious festivals and concert halls, including: the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Schokland (Netherlands), CEME New Music Festival (Israel), Esplanade Concert Hall (Singapore), New Music Days Festival (Switzerland), Miyoshimachi Cultural Center (Japan), and the University of Cambridge (UK) among others. ​ Recently, he was a winner of the Idiosyncrasies 2024 Prize for string quartet (Ohio, United States), his trio Speak-Un-Listen to be performed by Sopriola across the UK and at the International Viola d'amore Congress (Palermo Italy), and a new string quartet is to be commissioned for the Valencia International Performing Arts Festival (Valencia, Spain). His works have been published by NIBIUS Records (Spain) and CoMA (UK). He has also delivered composition seminars at the Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts (NAFA) the Composers Society of Singapore (CSS), and at the Stamford Arts Centre (Singapore).

Ng Yu Hng composer
  • Facebook
  • SoundCloud
  • YouTube

Copyright©2020-2024 Ng Yu Hng Composer. All rights reserved.

Designed by Moggi Solutions

bottom of page